Australian Open Quick Information | CNN


Right here’s a take a look at the Australian Open, considered one of 4 competitions that make up the “Grand Slam” in skilled tennis. The opposite three are Wimbledon, the French Open and the US Open.

January 17-30, 2022 – The 110th Australian Open takes place.

February 8-21, 2021 – The 109th Australian Open takes place.

Rafael Nadal defeated Daniil Medvedev within the males’s ultimate, clinching a record-breaking 21st Grand Slam title.

Ashleigh Barty grew to become the primary house Australian Open champion since 1978 after beating Danielle Collins within the ladies’s ultimate.

Complete prize cash for 2022 is $75 million AUD.

Youngest winners – males’s singles – Ken Rosewall (18); ladies’s singles – Martina Hingis (16)

Oldest winners – males’s singles – Rosewall (37); ladies’s singles – Thelma Lengthy (35)

Most consecutive singles wins – males’s – Roy Emerson (5) 1963-1967; ladies’s – Margaret Court docket (seven) 1960-1966

Most singles titles total – males’s – Djokovic (9); ladies’s – Margaret Court docket (11)

1905 – The Australasian Championships are performed in Melbourne.

1927 – The title is modified to the Australian Championships.

1954 – Thelma Lengthy wins the Ladies’s Singles Championship at age 35, turning into the oldest feminine to take action.

1969 – The title is modified to the Australian Open.

1972 – Ken Rosewall wins the Males’s Singles Championship at age 37, turning into the oldest male participant to win the Australian Open. Rosewall additionally holds the report for youngest champion, successful at age 18 in 1953.

2001 – Begins paying women and men equal prize cash.

January 15-16, 2022 – World No. 1 and 2021 males’s singles champion Novak Djokovic is detained and deported from Australia over a visa and vaccination dispute, lacking the event.

Supply hyperlink